One Question

Today I had the pleasure of meeting two wonderful authors.  I attended a literacy event for children and met Patricia Polacco and Alyssa Capucilli.  I had the honor of speaking briefly with each of the authors.  I introduced myself, as would be expected and asked them each one question.  “If you could give a new writer one piece of advice what would it be?” surprisingly each woman answered this question the same way.  Each said they would recommend joining the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.  Alyssa also added that attending conferences that feature authors is also very important.

I am so glad that I was able to attend the event today and meet these wonderful authors.  I wish I would have had a minute or two more to talk with each one of them, but they were on a tight schedule.  I am honored that each one of them graciously gave me a moment of their time to answer at least one question for me.

So if you are a new author trying to get your foot in the door, take the advice given, and head over to http://www.scbwi.org/ and check it out.  The site has a wealth of knowledge to share.

Follow your passion

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

