Skip to content

Podcasts can inspire you~

January 27, 2012

It is amazing that you can really find inspiration for your next book just about anywhere you look.
I work the weekends, 3- 14 hour shifts (yes it feels as long as it sounds!) and I get a good chance to catch up on my podcasts while I am there (luckily we can listen to the ipod). I search for podcasts about writing, but have not come across to many. If you know of any please share them in your comments I would love to check them out. Anyway, sometimes in the afternoons I listen to a podcast called “Among Women” by Pat Gohn.  It is a faith sharing podcast, so it has a lot to do with the Catholic faith.  In the beginning of the podcast she usually talks about a saint and about that saints life. I love this, and take notes diligently because I hope to write some saint books at some point.  The second part of each podcast is an interview with someone from the community.  They share their story or talk about their book or just share life lessons.  It is very interesting and relaxing to listen to.

While listening this last weekend I was inspired to write my next children’s book because of one of the interviews that was taking place.  I will have to look back to see who it was with (sorry it is slipping my mind), but they were speaking briefly about how there are so many distractions in the world that take us away from focusing on Jesus.

“Very true” I thought

And so the idea was born, a little book called “I can’t hear you Lord” by me!  It is just in the rough draft stage, but I am excited about it.  I have it all written out, and so the polishing will begin!  I love that part.  I hope to get it finished within the next week or so….. we will see.  Then off to publishers it will go!

This will be my first book for the 12 x 12 challenge held by Julie Hedlund over at writeupmylife.com.  If you are at all interested in writing and need a little push in the right direction then check out this challenge.  It will be worth it!

Last thing that I ask is for any prayers or good vibes.  I have 3 things out to publishers right now.  One Catholic book that I sent on to Liguori publishing, a bee article that has been sent to Highlights for children, and then two poems that are entered in a writing contest being held by the Institute of Children’s literature.  I know I have to set myself up for rejection, but any help would be greatly appreciated!

Have a great weekend everyone, and don’t forget to keep your eyes and ears open for inspiration!!

 

JODI

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 8:31 pm

    Glad to see you are using many sources to get your 12 x 12 inspiration!

  2. January 31, 2012 5:34 am

    I’m sending good vibes your way! I hope you do well in your contests and congrats on your first draft!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

